NUJP- Crossing party lines, 50 members of the House of Representatives found themselves agreeing on the issue of upholding freedom of the press amid the brewing speakership row that currently divides Congress.

House Resolution 431- “A Resolution Expressing the Sense of the House of Representatives that the Philippine Government should Uphold the Freedom of the Press, Speech and Expression at All Times in the Light of the Numerous Attempts to Control the Flow of News and Information, Criminalize the Exercise of Press Freedom and Curtail this Basic Right Especially in Times of Crisis and State Emergencies” was filed today by Gabriela Women’s Partylist Representatives Liza Maza and Luz Ilagan with 48 other solons as co-authors.

“It is high time that the House of Representatives speak on the issue of press freedom, a fundamental ingredient in a democratic state. We commend members of the press and media organizations that immediately stood in the face of repression. This resolution is Congress’ contribution in defending freedom of the press and our civil liberties. Certainly, any attempt to curtail or repress the mass media should be met upfront and nipped at the bud,” said Rep. Maza.

The Gabriela solon cited as recent attempts to curtail press freedom, the illegal arrest of members of the media during the Manila peninsula standoff; the Department of Justice advisory threatening members of the media and network organizations of criminal liabilities in effect restraining media from performing their duties and; the rumor-mongering that implicates a female reporter to the escape of Marine Capt. Nicanor Faeldon.

“Press freedom is being threatened. It is a Constitutional right and we are duty bound to defend it,” said Maza.

Members of Congress who co-authored the resolution were: Reps. Bienvenido Abante, Jr. Joseph Emilio Abaya, Giorgidi Aggabao, Proceso Alcala, Thelma Almario, Darlene Antonio-Custodio, Elpidio Barzaga, Crispin Beltran, Mar-Len Abigail Binay, Marc Douglas Cagas IV, Teodoro Casino, Ma. Laarni Cayetano, Antonio Cerilles, Justin Chipeco, Maria Isabelle Climaco, Teodolo Coquilla, Vincent Crisologo, Cinchona Cruz-Gonzales, Nelson Dayanghirang, Del De Guzman, Salvador Escudero III, Danilo Ramon Fernandez, Jeffrey Ferrer, Roilo Golez, Teofisto Guingona III, Magtanggol Gunigundo, Mujiv Hataman, Ana Theresia Hontiveros-Baraquel, Eduardo Nonato Joson, Teodoro Locsin, Jr., Hermilando Mandanas, Datu Pax Mangudadatu, Satur Ocampo, Carlos Padilla, Rufus Rodriguez, Jose Antonion Roxas, Mary Ann Susano, Marcelino Teodoro, Niel Tupas, Jr., Isidro Ungab, Emmanuel Joel Villanueva, Cynthia Villar, Rene Velarde, Liwayway Vinzons-Chato, Jose Yap, Victor Yu, Manuel Zamora, and Ronaldo Zamora.



Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s